Botanik, the new album by Contium

Botanik by Contium is a trip through expansive aural scenery, which is as vast as it is vivid. Every track in this cassette functions distinctly as its own mood piece, while the music remains consistently immersive throughout. Tone, rhythm and atmosphere have been finely concocted to form this collection of ethereal musical specimens, simultaneously boundless and intimately rooted.

The canadian artist Twin Peetz, from ODrex Music remixed the track Monstera. With its thumping bassdrum and relentless percussion, the track is anchored by a dance-floor sensibility and yet its ambition is set on an spatial expansion of sound based upon dub and ambient music, beyond just making people dance.

With an event in Berlin on 16th June 2018, Contium presents the new album to the public. The album can be streamed and downloaded on BandCamp. This is the tracklist:

Contium releases “Sonic Points” on cassette

After their last two vinyl releases, the Argentine-German duo comes in a new format. The new material called Sonic Points is available on cassette and digital files.

The five tracks on this 30 minutes tape lead us through different scenarios: side A begins with “Pylon” and “Ribbon Windows” showing Contium’s view of dubtechno and the characteristic echoes. The third track called “Roof Terrace” is a stepping, techno tool with heavy bass line. A pulsating ambient-dubtechno called “Free Plan” opens the B side, which closes with “Fa├žade”, a techno tune with a melancholic, four-chords harmony.

Contium sonic explorations started over a decade ago. Since then, their journey through the vast universe of electronic music has taken them beyond limits of genre classifications. Contium live acts are based on improvisation, so every performance is unique. In 2015 they launched their own label, releasing ‘Aeromagnetic Wave EP’ and later ‘Metroide EP’ in 2016.