Radius – obsolete machines [w​/​cv313 reshapes]

The entire album has been painstakingly restored from 20 year old cassette tapes, not an easy task but with alluring sonic results. Remastered using Apogee convertors and analog tape to preserve the integrity of the original masters. 2XCD set packaged in eco friendly digipak case with custom metallic artwork, housed in a resealable poly sleeve.

An unreleased classic from the vaults emerges with beautiful reshapes by cv313 (recorded and reshaped from 2007-2016) This is where the sound of cv313 was realized, culled from cassette tapes recorded live (1995-2000) with nothing but analog/digital hardware, no computer in sight (excluding our Commodore 64 midi sequencer, which is still alive and well today). The radius project has been absent since the final release in 2001, the first 12″ appearing in 1996 (limited white label run of 100 copies pressed at Acme pressing in Canada) after revisiting these works we realized there was truly some magic here. This project was initially sent to Rod Modell & Mike Schommer shortly after they launched their brilliant deepchord label in 2001. They were incredibly kind in saying it was the best demo they had ever heard and passed it on to Octal records for release, sadly, that didn’t materialize and since then these masters have been collecting dust in our cassette rack for nearly 20 years now. We’ve spent months doing our best to restore the old tapes from our Tascam 688, an 8 track cassette recorder purchased and abused since 1992 and to our ears still sounds quite impressive even by modern standards. (that is of course, if you can get past the tape hiss) We’ve had nearly every component replaced and re-calibrated to bring this obsolete machine back to life, it’s been a truly nostalgic experience re-visiting these masters.

We truly hope you enjoy reliving these magical times of music, very inspired by all that was happening in those years, there was just something in the air, an undeniable energy, long may it live on…


1) ethersonic
2) always dreaming [unreleased mix]
3) the advent of babylon [1996 12″ mix]
4) soul rotation [unreleased mix]
5) culture [1996 12″ mix]
6) etherscapes
7) transversewaves
8) oscillation range

CD runtime: 64:18

1) ethersonic [cv313 reshape]
2) always dreaming [cv313 reshape]
3) the advent of babylon [cv313 reshape]
4) soul rotation [cv313 reshape]
5) culture [cv313 reshape]
6) etherscapes [cv313 reshape]
7) transversewaves [cv313 reshape]
8) oscillation range [cv313 reshape]

CD runtime: 74:37
releases March 14, 2017

written and produced by radius [1994-1999] reworked and reshaped by cv313 [2006-2016] mastered by stephen hitchell in echospace.