[Dub Techno Release] Marat Shibaev – Seeing Tokyo LP

I was incredibly excited to see a new album from Martin Schulte, this guy is one of my favourite artists and when I read the snippet about his inspiration for the album I was very excited.  You know tokyo and dub techno are going to merge together well!

I’d put this up in my favourite albums of 2013 list, every single track is bursting with energy, deep, hypnotic chords and I really get the sense of the energy of tokyo flowing through me when listening to this album. This is some of Martin Schulte’s finest work!

My favourite track(s) from the EP? – ALL OF THEM! (except “Motor” which I’m really not feeling).


Marat Shibaev is the official name of the popular Russian techno artist Martin Schulte. He decided to go with his real name for the first time as he felt this new album is something special in his career. Indeed “Seeing Tokyo” sounds very solid and straight forward comparing to his previous albums which reflects his thoughts and affection towards the city Tokyo which he visited for the first time in late 2012. Marat says “This is a musical album about my visit to Tokyo and I wanted to express this amazing city from the foreigner’s perspective. How the city would sound like, if we were able to hear only the sounds of the city – Huge and fast, crowded and energetic, subways and trains, technologies and innovations, corporations and business centers, night life and the morning silence, parks and temples.. “As a home for his previous albums ”Depth Of Soul”, “Odysseia”, “Treaure” and “Slow Beauty”, we are very proud of this monumental work and it’s a must for all the Martin Schulte fans and minimal techno heads.



01 – marat shibaev – in the early morning
02 – marat shibaev – motor
03 – marat shibaev – dissonant
04 – marat shibaev – kalmar
05 – marat shibaev – acceleration
06 – marat shibaev – hydraulic
07 – marat shibaev – sliding
08 – marat shibaev – flowering
09 – marat shibaev – sky tree
10 – marat shibaev – n’ex 17
11 – marat shibaev – calmness

Buy from Bandcamp